Kings Square (also spelled King’s) is one of the main public squares in the city of York. Unlike others however, this was not always by design. Until 1937, a church was located here known as both Holy Trinity, King’s Court (to distinguish it from other Holy Trinity churches in the city such as Goodramgate) and Christ Church.
Originally larger, Christ Church’s extension was gradually reduced during the 18th-century, with documented reductions in 1768. More came in 1829, and finally a full renovation in 1861. Despite these changes, the church would eventually be declared redundant and was demolished, making way for the modern-day square.
It’s now surrounded by some of the best-known tourist attractions of York such as the Chocolate Story and Shambles, as well as home to various street performances.
Looking at the ground, visitors can still find remnants of the former church, including original headstones and a modern stone engraved with the history of the site.
Know Before You Go
Kings Square is public and the headstones can be seen at all times. The raised platform marking the church's site is located in front of the Duke of York pub.