Bollinger Mill and Buford Covered Bridge – Patton, Missouri - Atlas Obscura

Bollinger Mill and Buford Covered Bridge

Patton, Missouri

The only mill in the state that features a covered bridge.  

5
26

Pre-dating the American Civil War, Bollinger Mill is one of the most stunning sights in Missouri. It was even on the Missouri Bicentennial stamp in 2021. It is one of the only mills to feature a covered bridge side by side. The Buford Covered bridge adjoining the mill is one of only four covered bridges remaining in Missouri.

In 1800, a farmer named George Frederick Bollinger built the first dam and mill across the Whitewater River. He would go on to become a Missouri senator. The mill was rebuilt in 1825, then burnt down by the Union Army during the American Civil War. After, the mill was rebuilt once more in 1867. It operated until the 1950s, soon after it was donated to the Cape Girardeau Historical Society.

The Buford Bridge, 140 feet long and 12 feet wide, was completed in 1868. Originally a toll road, it was made of yellow poplar wood. It has been renovated over and over again, as flooding and time often cave in the ceiling.

Today, the mill and surrounding area offer a museum, picnic area, trails, and historical cemetery of the original Bollinger family members.  

Community Contributors

November 16, 2022

Make an Edit Add Photos
In partnership with KAYAK

Plan Your Trip

Want to see fewer ads? Become a Member.
From Around the Web