The Sant Just fountain was built in the 14th century, where the church cemetery for the Basilica of Saints Justus and Pastor had been and it was rebuilt in 1861.
Originally, it was built in a Gothic style, but was rebuilt in a neoclassical style. The fountain was created to pay tribute to Joan Fivaller (Counselor of the city of Barcelona), who during a hunt discovered a very important source of water in the Collserola hills, and promoted the project of its canalization. This brought water to the center of Barcelona which needed it desperately.
The fountain had three taps inserted in the faces. In the last remodeling, this changed and now it has two taps located between the faces. At the top of the fountain, visitors can see the sculpted image of Sant Just holding in one hand the palm of martyrdom. On the side of Carrer de la Palma de Sant Just, there is a relief of a falcon that has caught a partridge, as an homage to the Fivaller house. Currently, the water is from the public network.
Know Before You Go
The fountain is located right at the heart of the Gothic neighborhood in Barcelona across the Basilica of Saints Justus and Pastor