This entry is a stub
All that remains of the old Snelgrove ice cream factory and parlor is this very large, double scooped ice cream cone.
A former staple of the Sugarhouse neighborhood, Charles Rich Snelgrove first opened his ice cream factory in 1929, and it quickly became a Utah signature. In the 1960s, their art deco ice cream shop was decorated with black marble floors, a traditional soda fountain, all completed with a big candy counter. The shop was located directly in front of the factory and was a popular destination for families. The shop and brand remained a family-run business until the early 1990s when Dreyer’s purchased the Snelgrove brand.
The giant ice cream cone was such an iconic landmark in the state that when the 2002 Winter Olympics were held in Salt Lake City, the cone was featured on the Olympic pin.
Know Before You Go
Located on 2100 S, between 800 and 900 E in the Sugarhouse neighborhood of Salt Lake City, Utah.