Near the New Hampshire border in North Berwick, Maine, sits a remnant from the heyday of New England mills that was used in the classic 1995 film Jumanji.
While most of the filming for Jumanji was done in the town of Keene, New Hampshire, this factory building was put to use in the movie as the Parrish Shoe Factory. In the movie, the factory was owned and operated by the main character’s family and is the locale of an iconic opening sequence.
In real life, the current factory was built in 1862 and inherited by a woman named Mary Hurd in 1873. She ran the factory until her death in 1933. In that time span, she became a major economic and political force in North Berwick. Her legacy can be seen around town in the Hurd Library, Mary Hurd Academy, and the Lady Mary Inn at Hurd Manor.
The building was revitalized and repurposed into affordable housing in 2009. Visitors to the area can expect breathtaking views of the Great Works River that flows past. The town green, called the Mill Field, that lies in front of the old factory is also a great spot to have picnics, buy fresh foods from the summer farmers markets, and enjoy the Mill Field Festival every September
This factory is a must-see if you are in the Berwicks region of southern Maine and is a great stopping-off point to surrounding sites.