Iron Hill School No. 112C – Newark, Delaware - Atlas Obscura

Iron Hill School No. 112C

Newark, Delaware

This school was designed to support the rebuilding of African American schools around Delaware.  


The Iron Hill area of northwestern Delaware was a community of African American farming and mining families. Iron Hill School No. 112C is a one-room schoolhouse built in 1923. The funding to build the school was provided by Pierre S. du Pont as part of a reform and rebuilding of African American schools in Delaware. 

Open from 1923-1964, the school was in session from September through June and provided instruction for grades 1-6. All instruction was conducted by a single teacher. Upon the abolishment of education segregation in the area in 1965, the school was closed. 

Today, the building is owned by the Delaware Academy of Science, housing a natural and local history museum. As a result of the restoration efforts undertaken by the academy, the building stands as one of only a few former du Ponts chools still architecturally intact.

In 1995, the building was added to the National Register of Historic Places. 

Community Contributors
Added by

November 8, 2022

Make an Edit Add Photos
In partnership with KAYAK

Plan Your Trip

Want to see fewer ads? Become a Member.
From Around the Web