In 1950, architect Frank Lloyd Wright began designing a house for his friend, Dr. Isadore Zimmerman and his wife, Lucille. Always keeping his theory of organic architecture in mind, Wright designed the structure around a single concrete slab, incorporating the unique rocks and geological features of New Hampshire. As one of the few Wright designs in the northeast, it’s an interesting study of how the architect’s style adapts to the landscape of New England.
After Zimmerman’s death in 1988, the house was acquired by the nearby Currier Museum of Art, who now maintains the site and organizes tours.
Interestingly enough, the Zimmerman House is just one of two Wright homes on Heather Street.
In 1955, Dr. Toufic and Mildred Kalil’s equally exotic Usonian abode, the aptly titled Kalil House was completed. Despite being built only five years apart, the Zimmerman House and the Kalil House close proximity to each other allows visitors the fascinating chance to compare the evolution of Wright’s architectural style.
In 2020, the Currier Museum acquired the Kalil House and restored the structure for tours—allowing Wright fans from across the globe the opportunity to see two Wright homes of different styles on the same street.
Know Before You Go
Check the Currier Museum website for details on scheduling a tour and admission. The location correlates to the Zimmerman House.