Built by railroad tycoon James J. Hill in 1883 this iconic structure is the oldest bridge in Minneapolis.
Originally a working train bridge made of native granite and limestone, the Stone Arch served as a connector for both people and goods until 1965. In the 1950s the Army Corps of Engineers were building a lock at St Anthony’s Calls and had to remove 2 arches. This was replaced by a steel girder structure. The bridge, designated as a National Historic Engineering Landmark, was renovated in 1980 and now is used recreationally by bicyclists and pedestrians and is considered a local tourism destination.
Catch a perfect view of St. Anthony Falls, the downtown Minneapolis skyline, the Guthrie Theater, and the Old Mill Ruins from this charming vantage point, which is surrounded by green space, bike paths and scenic rest spots.
During the summer months, numerous festivals, fireworks displays and guided walking tours can be enjoyed.